Greetings Myles Files readers,

Wikipedia says of “Selling Out”:

Selling out refers to the compromising of one’s integrity, morality and principles in exchange for money, ‘success’ or other personal gain. It is commonly associated with attempts to increase mass appeal or acceptability to mainstream society. A person who does this, as opposed to following the original path s/he laid (or claimed to lay) out for him/herself, is labeled a sellout and regarded with disgust and immediate loss of respect.

And, by definition, one could say that I’ve sold out by agreeing to jump over to the Acadia Student Union’s Strike Website and become their official Strike Blogger. And, on the surface, this might be the case: however, at a certain point, a blogger needs to go where they can make the most difference. And, in this case, this is working in conjunction with the Acadia Students’ Union.

The ASU Strike Information Site

http://www.theasu.com/strike/

The Myles Files’ Strike Mission Statement was designed to inform students and help Acadia get through a strike with good information, solid analysis and a neutral voice. It is not coincidence that this aligns with the ASU’s own stance: like them, I wanted to work to best inform students.As a result, rather than “selling out,” I view this as a partnership between a concerned Acadia student who wants to inform students, and the ASU, who has set forward that as their mandate. I don’t feel like I’m changing or editing my own opinions based on this change, and my initial purposes will in fact be better served under this new arrangement.

So, while I might post to here every now and then depending on the situations, for the most part my strike coverage will be focused on the ASU’s new Strike Website. If you have any comments about what you’d like to see on the site, please feel free to comment here, at the Strike Website (I don’t know if you can actually do this), or send me an email at myles.mcnutt @ acadiau.ca. 

Thank you for your continued support, and hopefully we can get through this strike situation with our heads above the sand.

