It’s Tuesday night, and for the most part things are quiet across campus. There is certainly some people out and about, but tomorrow Acadia turns back to its normal state. Classes will be starting bright and early tomorrow morning, and a campus taken over by raucous celebration will become a place of higher learning once more.

But I think that although higher learning may not have been the goal, Welcome Week is nonetheless a place where a lot of learning takes place. As the campus divides on tribal lines based on one’s residence, and people are assigned names and tasks, it is impossible to avoid new experiences that will challenge even the most out-going individual.

And I would like to congratulate all of the frosh for being up to that challenge. I saw a lot of spirit, a lot of pride, and some really positive developments for certain residences. Whether it’s the small but might Tully, or the veritable army from Chase Court, each group brought to the table their own brand of energy.

While there’s a multitude of albums up on Facebook, I think that each of those residences deserves a chance to have a bit of the spotlight. As a result, throughout the month of September, I’m going to go through each residence (with pictures) and try to express my own appreciation for the efforts of all of the frosh, the NSOs and the RAs in those buildings.

I also want to take this opportunity to thank everyone for putting up with me over the weekend. While I know that some people dislike candid photographs, it has always been my belief that the end result will provide better memories. I know this is an abstract thought, and I greatly appreciate the patience shown to me over these four days. Some of you were more patient than you really needed to be, and I am grateful.

A special thanks has to go out to Chipman House, who had to deal with me most of all and yet have been absolutely great to me thus far. We’ll see if this extends to my first duty shift, of course, but for now I am truly impressed by the level of non-aggression I’ve witnessed.

Was I a little creepy? Perhaps. Acadia’s own paparazzi? Sounds about right. But, in the end, was it worth it?

I’d say it was. And, over the next month or so, I want to be able to explain why. In the meantime, I’ve posted a first batch of photos onto Flickr for your perusal. There shall be more to come in the weeks ahead.

