[In a new feature here at the Myles Files, “All Thumbs” will be a way for me to send kudos out to various individuals while also offering some criticism of others. Some of them will be serious, and some of them…won’t be. So, enjoy.]

Thumbs Up to…

Emily McCarthy and Kelton Thomason, two of the fine folks organizing New Student Orientation this year, for being on the ball with the Special Interest Groups. Last year was a complete mess, as people didn’t know what they were and the organizational failures led to events that were both poorly attended and poorly organized. After getting lucky the first year, a lack of NSO Leader knowledge on the subject and general planning led to the bubble bursting, and it wasn’t pretty.

But Emily and Kelton have been putting together an entire website for all of the facilitators and events, and are actually planning on pre-registering people. This excites me to no end, as now I can Facebook stalk potential debating recruits. And, let’s face it, I never turn down a chance to do that! So kudos, Emily and Kelton, for some fine work that fulfills perhaps my biggest beef with Welcome Week. Now, if we can cut down on the length of that Red and White Scrimmage, that would be marvelous.

Thumbs Down to…

Kent in Lower Sackville. I was stuck at your particular business establishment for ten minutes today, and you had absolutely no form of sustenance to offer me. No Caramilk, no Mars, no Smarties…you only had gum. Well, I didn’t want gum. I wanted a chocolate bar. But instead, I got nothing. While I understand you sell building supplies, I also think you should at least carry a small number of chocolate based items for those of us who may be famished.

Thumbs Up to…

The weather, for two things. First, for holding off the torrential rain until last evening, as opposed to dumping it onto me while I was working yesterday. And second, most importantly, for looking pretty frakkin’ awesome for this weekend’s camping trip.

Thumbs Down to…

The weather, for two things. First, for bringing said torrential rain in conjunction with Thunder and Lightning, which basically turned Cody into a panting mess all evening. And, second, for bringing quite so much rain, perhaps rendering the paths at Keji to be puddled messes when it comes to biking through them.

Thumbs Up to…

Everyone who entered The Myles’ Files first ever Caption Contest! There was some strong interest in the contest, and for that I am most grateful. However…

Thumbs Down to…

Me, for procrastinating picking a winner. I’ve been trying to figure out how to pick a winner, and it’s honestly quite difficult. As a result, I am putting it off until Monday when I will, I promise, crown a winner in the contest. I’m thinking of perhaps getting the subjects of the photo to weigh in with their own opinions before I make a final call, but we’ll see if they’re cooperative.

