While I was taking pictures at a family gathering this past weekend, I did not realize that a momentous event took place. I have had my digital camera since April of last year, so for about 15 months now. And, yesterday, that camera took its 10,000th photo.

#10,000

This shot of my cousin Amanda exiting a kayak is that photo. With no offense to Amanda, it isn’t perhaps as memorable a photo as I could have imagined, but it is nonetheless a momentous event.

Of course, it’s not ACTUALLY my 10,000th photo taken. There were those photos deleted, those files transferred under a different non-generic name. However, as far as my camera is concerned, I’m starting over: the four-digit code has run out, and now it’s back to 0001. Or, since I took another 259 pictures, back to 0259.

Here’s to 10,000 more!

